MLB News; Rookies of the Year, Manager of the Year, Cy Young and MVP

This past week was awards week in Major League Baseball, with the winners of the Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, Cy Young and Most Valuable Player awards being announced. The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) determines the winners each year, and the winners are announced on MLB Network.

Rookie of the year

The week began with the Rookie of the Year announcement, with the Angels’ Shohei Ohtani and Atlanta’s Ronald Acuna Jr. taking home the hardware. Ohtani finished ahead of the Yankees’ Miguel Andujar and Gleyber Torres, while Acuna Jr. topped Washington’s Juan Soto and the Dodgers’ Walker Buehler.

Manager of the year

Tuesday saw the announcement of the Managers of the Year, with Oakland’s Bob Melvin and Atlanta’s Brian Snitker winning the award. Melvin defeating Boston’s Alex Cora and Tampa Bay’s Kevin Cash. Snitker edged out Milwaukee’s Craig Counsell (17 points) and Colorado’s Bud Black.

Cy Young Winner

The Cy Young winners were announced Wednesday, with Tampa Bay’s Blake Snell and the Mets’ Jacob deGrom receiving the honors. Snell topped Houston’s Justin Verlander by 15 points, and Cleveland’s Corey Kluber finished third. deGrom was almost an unanimous decision in the National League, receiving 29 of 30 first-place votes. The other first-place vote went to Washington’s Max Scherzer, and Philadelphia’s Aaron Nola finished third.

Most Valuable Player

Awards week ended on Thursday with the announcement of the MVPs for each league. Boston’s Mookie Betts and Milwaukee’s Christian Yelich won the awards, capping off amazing seasons for both. Betts became the first American League player ever to win a World Series, an MVP, a Gold Glove and a Silver Slugger in the same season. Hall of Fame third baseman Mike Schmidt is the only other player to accomplish the feat. Betts received 28 of 30 first-place votes, with the other two going to the Angels’ Mike Trout and Betts’ teammate, J.D. Martinez, who finished fourth. Cleveland’s Jose Ramirez finishing third. Yelich was almost a unanimous selection the the NL, receiving 29 of 30 first-place votes. NL Cy Young Jacob deGrom received the other first-place vote, finishing fifth. The Cubs’ Javier Baez and Colorado’s Nolan Arenado rounded out the top three.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s